My explorations in Ontario thus far have revealed a disturbing trend amongst ash trees: they are all in various stages of succumbing to emerald ash borers. Last night I was admiring the resilience of wildlife, and now I am worrying on the relative inflexibility of some species of trees in the presence of invasive insect species.

A quick check on the antonyms for resilience (source) leaves a lot to be desired in an antonym. These words are each better antonyms for something else other than resilience, but collectively, I suppose they will suffice. It is true that ash trees are delicate and weak in the presence of emerald ash borers. Trees, by their very nature, are hard, inflexible, rigid, and stiff; as long as environmental conditions don’t change, these traits are likely how old growth status is achieved by a tree.

In planning for the coming school year I have been reading about the necessary and long overdue changes that teachers should make to ensure the future success of the students in their care (Juliani, 2015). Having been schooled traditionally, I need to be resilient in the face of major changes to what it is to teach and learn in a classroom setting. It will most likely put me out of my comfort zone, but hopefully not beyond my reach. Having been a naturalist for my entire life, I hope to incorporate lessons from nature as I set forth on this journey.

Source:

Juliani, A. J. (2015). Inquiry and innovation in the classroom: Using 20% time, genius hour, and PBL to drive student success. Routledge Taylor & Francis Group: New York.

resilient. (n.d.). Roget’s 21st Century Thesaurus, Third Edition. Retrieved July 03, 2015, from Thesaurus.com website: http://www.thesaurus.com/browse/resilient

