Don’t you just love it when, before your eyes, a struggling student has a “eureka moment?” Those are the moments that sustain and reinvigorate classroom teachers. To me, this moment lives at the nexus of independence, engagement, and persistence. It can also be a great positive feedback loop for learning even more.

Walking from Point A to Point B today I had my own eureka moment. I have been reading, “World of Making: Best Practices for Establishing a Makerspace for Your School” (Fleming, 2015). I have been puzzling prolongedly over how to start small and try it out in my own classroom. My desire to try 20% Time also runs strong after reading A. J. Juliani’s book.

I was having a difficult time envisioning how, through the lens of my content and given my space constraints, I could marry the two ideas cohesively. I now have a great spark to work with, and will document it through pictures and descriptions as it starts to take shape in my classroom in August 2015. I am very excited! Stay tuned.

Sources:

Fleming, L. (2015). Worlds of Making: Best Practices for Establishing a Makerspace for Your School. Corwin: Thousand Oaks, CA.

Juliani, A. J. (2015). Inquiry and innovation in the classroom: Using 20% time, genius hour, and PBL to drive student success. Routledge Taylor & Francis Group: New York.

