We transitioned from McRel Science Standards to the Next Generation Science Standards during the 2014-15 school year. There has been a learning curve, of course, and thanks to last night’s NGSS Chat, I have learned about the NGSS Performance Expectations (PEs).

As near as I can tell, the PEs are organized to be aligned with Bloom’s Taxonomy, from Level 1: Lower Order Thinking (i.e., Components of the Model) to Level 3 (and beyond): Higher Oder Thinking (i.e., Evaluating Potential Solutions). It’s an approximation, as I know that some Standards have more PEs than others, and also that Bloom’s Taxonomy has been revised in recent years. Even in writing this and researching the links to include I get hits that show an alignment between the Revised Bloom’s Taxonomy and the Common Core, though those sources do not appear to be peer reviewed.

I have been intrigued by the related notions of badges and gamification in the classroom setting. Our new Learning Management Software (LMS), Haiku Learning, uses the powerful badge creation app, Credly, to enable educators to build and award custom badges. I thought back to my days playing Dark Age of Camelot and World of Warcraft, and leveling up in herbalism, and I started to tinker in the custom badges section. Both an idea and a badge were born. Between my eureka moment and this new development, my excitement builds for the 2015-16 school year!

Level 1 Badge for NGSS curriculum
Level 1 Badge for NGSS curriculum
