As previously mentioned here, I had a brainwave about the incorporation of badges with the Next Generation Science Standards Evidence Statements (NGSS ESs) on the heels of the last NGSS Chat on Twitter. I had a few different educators ask me for more information as to what I had done, and so, I am sharing these badges here and now.

In using these and/or borrowing from them to develop your own, the major points of note are as follows:

  • Made within Haiku Learning Learning Management System (LMS)
  • Haiku Learning’s badges are powered by Credly, and you can access it without the LMS
  • The badges are based on American School Foundation of Monterrey Biology 12 course units (columns) and are school-specific
  • The badges are based on NGSS ESs assuming they are loosely leveled (i.e., SE #1 is lowest order, SE #5 is highest order), but the ESs don’t strictly follow Bloom’s Taxonomy (I had to start somewhere)
  • I have never tried badges before, but I am prepared to pilot this if my senior students are willing
  • These will be awarded to students and visible to parents within the Haiku Learning LMS
  • I hope to print these out as stickers and make a blank card stock template for student sticker collection and in-class display (if the students want this too)
Biology 12 preliminary badge list based on NGSS Evidence Statements, July 2015
Biology 12 preliminary badge list based on NGSS Evidence Statements, July 2015
