I have enjoyed blogging about the trials and tribulations of implementing new science standards in my Biology 12 class. The Next Generation Science Standards are very generous in the time that they allow for Science Practices, or “doing science.” In my attempt to deliver a program that is both engaging and true to these standards, I find myself lacking in time to blog about all of the great things that are happening in the classroom. In the end, I prioritize, and the students and their needs come first.

Our exploration of HS-LS1-4 occurred during Weeks 5 and 6, which are now stale news. Student groups used sorting cards to work through the process of mitosis, its relationship with various forms of cancer, and to differentiate it from meiosis. Mitosis and meiosis were old news for the students, so they were able to concentrate on clarifying their understandings during this activity. Surprisingly, many of them already knew the basics of cancer, too. The results of their sorting activity was shared with me via photo to Haiku Learning Dropbox.

Mitosis and Cancer Challenge sorting cards, September 2015
Mitosis and Cancer Challenge sorting cards, September 2015
