I have been poking around on Blab. I was so excited about Blab’s potential for taking the typing out of educational chats that I created a live chat today and sat there waiting for some other educators to join me, which they eventually did. Thanks, Chris and Alisa!

Screen Shot 2016-01-02 at 3.01.11 PM

I had been enticing teachers in my Twitter PLN to join with proclamations such as, “I‘m still on , alone and waiting. Fear paralyzes progress. My prediction: Typed chats will become a thing of the past. .

Eventually curious teachers joined in, including a social media maven, and we had a very nice chat about how Blab works, how it differs from Periscope, and how we might use it for teaching and learning. I did not record it (see “Off the Record” at the top left of this image).

Screen Shot 2016-01-02 at 4.04.51 PM

I revisited Blab again tonight, and lo and behold, another beginner Blab with some teachers on it. I was about to dial in when someone else beat me to it. With the best of intentions, the fourth person monopolized the conversation and the other three blabbers didn’t know what to do. After about 15 minutes of entertaining this the host of the blab quickly indicated a need to go, as did the two others. The blab was killed off because no one knew what to say or do to get back on topic.

I have learned a valuable lesson. As a Blab moderator you need to be selective as to whom you allow to join the active chat boxes. If your topic is specific it can easily be derailed by a blabber who strays while on camera. If a derailment happens you need a tactful plan of action to get your blab back on topic. Only in extreme circumstances would removal of the person from the blab be okay; in what I saw tonight it would have been rude and the moderator knew that. Blab seems like a great way to practice kindness and tact, among all else. Join me next time?

