#LLLchat for Feb. 2, 2016

I have nothing to sell. I have written no books, I only sporadically write to this blog, and I just accepted a two-year position as an Instructional Coach starting in July 2016. I am happy where I am.

Self-promotion does not come easily to me. I am very much putting myself out there to moderate a Twitter chat such as Lifelong Learning Chat. I started it because I wanted to see how it felt to moderate a Twitter chat and as a means to grow and practice “putting myself out there.”

I finish what I start. While I have considered canceling #LLLchat a few times, most notably after nights when I was mostly talking to myself, I am no quitter. I am generating discussion ideas on my own unless someone like Clint Heitz asks to moderate. I have also asked my students if they have questions they want to ask the educators of Twitter. I will let you know if that ever comes to fruition.

I enjoy learning with you. As in life, Twitter is what you make it. I am less afraid of any “echo chamber” effect than I am of not knowing what the best possible options are because I am scared of what someone on Twitter might think. I want to chat with other educators because I want us all to have options. This adds diversity to our myriad approaches to teaching and learning, which is absolutely the aim of this week’s #LLLchat on Tuesday, February 2 at 7:30 pm CT.

I am a scientist at heart. Unless someone else moderates, #LLLchat will likely have a scientific flavor to it. This coming week’s inspiration stems from the stability a wide gene pool provides to a population of organisms (see my students’ videos about the importance of genetic variation). If you prefer macro-scale biology then think of the influence species richness has on ecosystem stability (check out this amazing video on the reintroduction of wolves into Yellowstone National Park).

I enjoy utility. As I work towards my own understanding of what an educational Twitter chat is or can be, I continue to come back to utility. I want it to be something that you, a fellow educator, can easily use. In that vein, you should be prepared to share too. My sharing plan involves an, “Anyone with the link can comment” setting on materials I provide to my students and that are examples relating to the chat question that is being asked (see below).

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 4.43.11 PM

I continue to put a lot of thought into #LLLchat. The fact of the matter is, you don’t really even have to take my word for it. You can join it and see for yourself. You are always welcome.

 

