Never in my wildest dreams did I think that not attending a conference would be eventful. As it happens, the International Society for Technology in Education 2016 Conference and Expo, no doubt trending as #ISTE2016 in Denver, Colorado where it is being hosted, is a big enough deal that educators who do not attend still have access to a variety of activities related to the event. Apps such as Periscope make it possible for those in attendance to share what they see, do, and learn with a much broader audience, and everyone wins.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 8.53.34 AMFrom a Google+ Community, to several Voxer groups, a mind-blowing LiveBinder, two Remind app classes, a #NOTatISTE16 hashtag, and activities galore all thoroughly explained within a Google Doc, one could easily spend the entire three days of #NOTatISTE16 engrossed in it while scarcely moving from the comfort of their own couch. Upon joining the Google+ Community I discovered the fun of creating a virtual badge (pictured right). I have been struggling with the ‘how’ of creating my own badge, which is lucrative because I can earn points in the challenge in so doing.

So, too, did I struggle with gaining admission to the main Voxer group, only a person with a PRO account can add new members to an existing group. It was not long before four educators in my Twitter personal learning network (PLN) came to my rescue and added me. I suspect I won’t have to wait too long until someone points me in the right direction so I can figure it out. Connected educators are kind and caring people, willing to help adults just as much as they are willing to help their students. If you are not yet dialed into an educational social media PLN I strongly encourage you to do so. I did so with Twitter in January 2015 and I have absolutely no regrets!

NOTATISTE16 Badge-Share

 

