I opted to shadow a student through one complete round of a representative student schedule, playing the part of Sally Student on the first day of classes. It was both enlightening and enjoyable, with a few caveats that I will blog about separately and later! What I will reveal right now is that I was delighted to finally observe some of my colleagues in action.

On its own, data can tell an interesting story, so I am including the Draftback Extension graph (image, below left) and data table (image, below right) from the Google document I created during Day 1 as Sally Student, which included Period 1 through Period 4.

 

Why did I type so much? In an attempt to ensure that I am only recording observations and not my own inferences I generally type what is actually being said, word for word. Thus, in the very first period of each class I typed what the teacher was saying as they were saying it, sometimes from bell to bell, to the best of my ability:

Teacher: Okay darlings, welcome to [redacted]. The first game we are going to play is true or false, fact or opinion. Who wants to be the brave volunteer?

and whenever any student spoke I typed what the student said too.

Student 1: That you are super ‘buena onda.’                        Student 2: That you are strict.

G9D1_TimeSpent (1)The Draftback data includes my typing start and stop times which are easily compared to the start and stop times of each period according to the schedule for Week 1.

Each of the seven periods was 55 minutes in duration, so I was able to use the Draftback data to calculate the average time Sally Student spent sitting and listening during the first day of school (image, right). The data caused me to wonder: How might we restructure the first day of classes to achieve a balance between time spent listening and time spent actively doing? Remember that old adage:

The person who does the work does the learning.

