I have been following along with the #12daystwitter challenge put forth by Mickie Mueller, which is currently on Day 6, so it’s not too late to join in! This challenge has refreshed my enjoyment of my educational Twitter account (@lesliefarooq), and it has reminded me of why Twitter was so compelling when I first started to use it for educational purposes in January 2015. There are so many great teachers sharing their ideas and practices freely, and there is always something to learn!

One of the prompts in the #12daystwitter feed (that I have now lost, but hope to find to give credit, and if you find it first, please let me know) encouraged us all to remember why we each became a teacher. Given Simon Sinek’s suggestion that we “start with why,” I decided to do so in an attempt to break my blogger’s block.

It’s not so much that I sought out teaching, as I realized that teaching was in pursuit of me. I was many other things before I became a high school science teacher (e.g., ecologist, researcher, field botanist, project manager), but I would somehow find myself in coaching or mentoring roles within these positions. Even running, my hobby and preference for keeping fit, resulted in my leadership of a “Learn to Run” clinic at my favorite Running Room.

As I pondered this reality and sought feedback I realized that I enjoyed the role. The people I coached and mentored said I was patient, a trait I had never before assigned to myself. I applied to teachers’ college, quit my environmental consulting job, and allowed teaching to catch me. I’ve been working at an international school ever since, and it has been a great fit. Why do I teach? Because I truly believe that it is my calling, and as Confucius once said, “Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.”

